BnB Review | Late Night Tales – Trentemoller

Late Night Tales - Trentemoller

What’s left to say about the insanely talented Anders Trentemøller that hasn’t already been said a million times before. An extremely versatile songwriter (although perhaps not in the traditional sense of the word) musician and live artist, Trentemøller is one of the most respected producers in electronic music today with an impressive batch of both dancefloor destroyers as beautiful, atmospheric pieces of electronica under his belt. His latest project comes in the form of this compilation for Late Night Tales on which he takes you, the listener, on a haunting trip through decades of psychedelic rock, pop, punk, electronica, and more. If the only stuff you’ve ever heard from the Dane are his dancefloor-tailored cuts, then you’re in for a nasty surprise. However, if you’ve been following his recent projects more closely, you should know that Anders doesn’t quite scare away from incorporating obscure pop music in his outings.

His contribution to Late Night Tales has become an extremely chilled, almost terrifying blend of dark, far from comforting sounds, and that’s exactly the brilliance and beauty of this compilation. After a beautiful start in the form of This Mortal Coil’s Waves Become Wings, the CD plunges into the depth with psychedelic slo-mo rock from The Black Angels (Science Killer), dark indie pop from Low (Amazing Grace), and pre-punk with Nico & the Velvet Underground (Venus In Fur). The dancefloor never sounded so far away. Although each track differs from the other in terms of speed, composition and genre, the mixing is quite smooth, with the compilation as a whole sounding like a pirate station transmitting long-forgotten tracks. Fact is that we get to hear a lot of extremely good tracks, such as Darkness Falls’ (a Trentemøller project) Noise On The Line, the lovely Lights Out by We Fell To Earth (a track often played by Anders in his sets), and the instrumental The Proposition #1 by Nick Cave & Warren Ellis. That’s all we have to say about it…

Our verdict – Late Night Tales – Trentemoller

… except for the conclusion, of course. And we can be short about it: buy it, steal it if you must. One could label a compilation such as this one as pretentious, but it’s not. Trentemøller proved before that he knows his way around obscure pop and rock, but he never showed it as convincing as on this compilation. Absolutely amazing.

Rating: 8.8/10
Label: Late Night Tales
Release date: May 30th, 2011

Tracklist – Late Night Tales – Trentemoller

1. This Mortal Coil – Waves Become Wings
2. Kid Congo & The Pink Monkey Birds – La Lliarona
3. The Black Angels – Science Killer
4. Chimes & Bells – The Mole (Trentemøller Remix)
5. Low – (That’s How You Sing) Amazing Grace
6. Mazzy Star – Mary of Silence
7. Velvet Underground & Nico – Venus In furs
8. Vampire Hands – Safe Word
9. The Shangri-La’s – Walking In The Sand
10. Jacqueline Taieb – 7 Heures Du Matin
11. M. Ward – Poor Boy, Minor Key
12. Darkness Falls – Noise On The Line
13. Papercuts – Unavailable
14. We Fell To Earth – Lights Out
15. Thee Oh See’s – Ghost In The Trees
16. Trentemøller – Blue Hotel (Exclusive Chris Isaak Cover Version)
17. Nick Cave & Warren Ellis – The Proposition #1
18. Eden Ahbez – Full Moon
19. Ekko – Rehearsal
20. Paul Morley – Lost For Words – part. 1