BnB Review | John Digweed – Structures (Bedrock)

John Digweed - Structures

Structures is the latest mix compilation to come from the hands of the man who has been on the forefront of innovating dance music for over two decades. This new mix isn’t just a continuation of John’s trademarked progressive house sound. It’s a redefined, reshaped vision on all things electronic spread across two brilliant discs.

Let’s not get in detail on John’s impressive career as we’re sure you know who we’re dealing with here. After more than twenty years of milestome work for the scene through DJing, remixing, producing and running the highly acclaimed Bedrock label, John now gives us an update of his current sound. A sound that elegantly fuses house, techno, progressive, and loads more into a mesmerizing blend signed off with John’s personal signature. Truth is, stakes were set pretty high for the man himself after 2008’s massive Transitions Vol. 4 and 2009’s equally stunning Bedrock 11 compilation.

Structures features two CDs that both pack an array of new and previously unreleased tracks. Using Ableton 8 for mixing, John serves up a total of 33 tracks, with the full package also including the Eye Of The Storm DVD in co-operation with Pablo Casacuberta.

The first CD is the housier mix of the two and opens with an entrancing synthy intro, followed by the proggy but very laidback groove that is John Daly’s remix of Alex Dolby & Santos’ Babylon, a beautiful track that marks a perfect intro. Each track smoothly blends in in what soon enough becomes a subtle flow of mesmerizing house music in its most intense form. Tunes such as Mutant Clan’s On An Amp (Vincenzo Remix), King Roc & Dimitri Nakov’s Alameda Jau Dub and Christian Varela’s Colmedream are used in such a way that each tune’s biggest strength’s becomes noticeable from the very beginning. The progressive sound in which Structures is rooted breathes a feeling of warmth, compassion and emotion at all times, reflecting both Bedrock’s as Digweed’s trademarked vibe in a truly unique way.

The second disc… wow. Whereas the first CD sparks a housier vibe with techy, somewhat minimal influences here and there, the second disc is a full on progressive affair. And its among the best we’ve heard in a long, long time. The mix starts off in a much darker fashion as the first CD and goes on to drop a wide array of downright thrilling progressive house tunes that, dare we say it, do remind of John Digweed around 2001. The first few tunes already give a preview of what’s around the corner. Tunes such as Guy J’s Esperanza (Umbral Aguir Remix), Ian O`Donovan’s Aurora Borealis and the roaring John Digweed & Nick Muir Remix of Marco Bailey’s Jungle Laps all feature that hard-to-put-into-words vibe in which traditional prog effecting, layered rhythms and soaring synthesizer patterns rule the sequence. And then, somewhere 20:00 minutes in the mix, John suddenly engages into the deepest realms of uptempo house music with a great variety of truly brilliant gems. The tempo is increased, synths, pads, strings and cymbals are fused and the mix turns into an extremely powerful and at times trippy flow of epic proportions.

Of course, we get to hear one of Bedrock’s biggest cuts of the past few months: John Digweed & Nick Muir – Tangent, here in the blazing Marco Bailey remix carefully placed alongside full-throttle tunes such as the evil Mutant Clan – Persuader (Psycatron Remix) and Marco Bailey & Tom Hades’ Rayavadee.

A genius mix compilation is remarked by the fact that artists and titles do no longer matter upon listening. Such mix compilations are able to ban anything else out of your mind, letting you concentrate on the flow instead of the tracklist. And that is exactly what happens here. John Digweed’s Structures is without any doubt the best mix compilation since Joris Voorn’s Balance mix and Sasha’s Involver series. Yes, that is in fact a bold statement but praise where praise is due. When next-level mixing, craftmanship, a close-to-perfect choice of record and the unmistakable talent for positioning records come together in the way it’s done on Structures, we cannot say anything else than this is an early contestor for Compilation Of The Year.

Our Verdict – John Digweed – Structures

Rating: 9.0/10
Label: Bedrock
Release date: July 12th, 2010

Tracklist – John Digweed – Structures

CD 1
1. Luis Junior – Colache (Sometimes Mix)
2. Alex Dolby & Santos – Babylon (John Daly Remix)
3. Wiretappeur – My Real Name Is
4. Mutant Clan – On and Amp (Vincenzo Remix)
5. Alex Dolby & Santos – No Walls (Maher Daniel Remix)
6. Dirty Mongrel – Cream (Wiretappeur Remix)
7. King Roc & Dimitri Nakov – Alameda Jau Dub
8. Cristian Varela – Colmedream
9. Rowdent – Put It To Bed
10. Quivver – Boom Boom
11. Cristian Verela – Perras A Tutti
12. King Unique – 2000000 Dubs
13. King Unique – 2000000 Suns (John Digweed & Nick Muir Remix)
14. Quivver – In Your Boat

CD 2
1. Nick Warren – In Search Of Silver (Structures Edit)
2. Guy J – Esperanza (Umbral Aguir Remix)
3. Marc Marzenit – Unexpiritualized (Pete Heller Remix)
4. John Digweed & Nick Muir – Meteor (Beats)
5. Ian O`Donovan – Aurora Borealis
6. Marco Bailey – Jungle Laps (John Digweed & Nick Muir Remix)
7. Marc Marzenit – Neo Galaxy
8. Saints and Sinners – Pushin’ Too Hard (Nic Fanciulli Remix)
9. John Digweed & Nick Muir – Tangent (Marco Bailey Remix)
10. Christian Smith – Flyertalk (Wehbba Remix)
11. Mutant Clan – Persuader (Psycatron Remix)
12. Cristian Verela – Etiam
13. Sian – Dreams Are Maps
14. Marco Bailey & Tom Hades – Rayavadee
15. King Unique – Feniksas
16. Luis Junior – BG (Beats)
17. Erphun & Thee O – Collusion
18. Guy J – Esperanza (Sistema Remix)
19. John Digweed & Nick Muir – Satellite (EFX)