Weatherall’s New Album: Ruled By Passion Destroyed By Lust

Andrew Weatherall

ndrew Weatherall is back with even more than his usual swagger, as he releases ‘Ruled By Passion Destroyed by Lust’ as The Asphodells, alongside regular studio partner Timothy J. Fairplay, on 6th February.

By his own admission at a recent event at the ICA, ‘people don’t hire me for my technical skills’, so don’t under estimate Mr Fairplay’s contribution to this 10-track masterclass in moody vocals (some by Weatherall himself), throbbing guitar and, of course simmeringly tense basslines. Weatherall’s name might be forever associated with techno to some, but this sounds more like New Order re-tooled for the future to us. Enjoy!


1. Beglammered

 2. Never There

 3. Skwatch

 4. Another Lonely City

 5. Late Flowering Lust

 6. Late Flowering Dub

 7. We Are The Axis

 8. One Minute’s Silence

 9. The Quiet Dignity (Of Unwitnessed Lives)

 10. A Love From Outer Space (Version 2)

The Asphodells – A Love From Outer Space

[iframe width=”100%” height=”166″ scrolling=”no” frameborder=”no” src=””]

Jessamine Soundcloud