BnB Promo Pool #7

Jesse Saunders vs. Mr. Quertz – MainLine (Broken Records)
Jesse Saunders, the man behind the ‘very first house tune ever produced’ (On An On, 1984), returns with a brand new track plus three additional remixes. First of is the Disco Tek Percussion Rmx of MainLine, which is a drum-driven and highly energetic house track with a fat juicy vibe. Nothing too fancy,
just some nice grooves for the clubs. The Nuthin In The Same Mix turns to the classic NY vocal house sound for a very floor-friendly hands-in-the-air cut including some great samples. The Disco Tek Dub Slice is, well, a dub version of the original, while the rumbling Break It Down closes the deal with the heaviest track of the pack. All in all a solid house music release.
Rating: 6.8/10 | Release date: March 27th, 2012

Nic Fanciulli – The Lost Mixes EP (Saved Records)
Saved label boss Nic Fanciulli takes on two productions from Radio Slave and Loco Dice and adds his own flavour to the cuts. First off is his remix of Radio Slave’s Grindhouse, which has become an ass-whooping piece of bass-fueled house music. It’s got the dirty bass for maximum clubbing mania, a solid breakdown and a suh-weet climax that has ‘peak time’ written all over it. Flipping over there’s Nic’s rework of Loco Dice’s Definition, which is a rather techy track with a huge bassline and a chunky overall vibe. Nice set of
Rating: 7.5/10 | Release date: March 26th, 2012

Maceo Plex – Frisky (Crosstown Rebels)
One of today’s most exciting house producers has turned to Damian Lazarus’ CTR label for the release of two shiny new gems: Frisky and Sex Appeal. And both sound unmistakably Maceo (which obviously is a recommendation!). Frisky has the trancey strings, throbbing bass and punchy kicks Maceo seems to have a patent on, while the overall vibe (an odd but exquisite combination of basement club sounds and poolside grooves) is downright amazing. Sex Appeal is a bit more uptempo but draws on the same dreamy vibe as Maceo’s earlier tracks. Heavy on the bass, sweet on the vocals, motherfreaking huge.
Rating: 8.2/10 | Release date: April 9th, 2012

Heartthrob – Odyssey (Hot Creations)
On this EP, Minus fave Heartthrob delivers two pumping minimal techno tracks. The title track incorporates 909 and 808-ish beats and percussion to shimmering arps and psychedelic keys, resulting in what is best described as an incredibly trippy composition. The Liar relies on a heavy but playful bass and several layers of slightly mental synths. A job well done, we say.
Rating: 8.2/10 | Release date: April 9th, 2012

Hernan Cattaneo & Soundexile – Japanese Snowbell (Sudbeat)
Veteran progressive house honcho and Sudbeat boss Hernan teams up once more with Soundexile on the Japanese Snowbell EP, which is backed up with remixes by Jamie Stevens (of Infusion fame) and Manuel Sofia. The first one turns the track into a bell-rigged piece of warm progressive with a techno twist perfect
for outdoor festivities. Carefully building up tension, the track eventually blossoms into a first class floorfiller. The original version is a bit darker but still very, very good, after which Manuel Sofia turns in a warm techno version of the track with great drum work and synths alike.
Rating: 8.0/10 | Release date: March 28th, 2012

Chelonis R. Jones – The Irritant (Systematic)
The Irritant is the debut single from Chelonis’ brand new album The Prison Buffet, with the full EP carrying additional remixes by Kruse & Nurnberg and Lopazz & Casio Casino. And dear Lord, The producer/singer-songwriter is on fire here! The original version of The irritant is a super heavy stomper with fierce electro bass stabs and pumping kicks. The out-of-sync tone pulses give the track a somewhat twisted vibe, while things get way over the top near the end when the fuzzy, slightly distorted synths kick in. Kruse & Nurnberg turn the cut into a more ‘traditional’ house track with a nice emotive touch, Lopazz and Casio Casino drop another pumping, somewhat minimal rework (check the strings on this one!), after which Kruse & Nurnberg deliver a nice DJ tool with their dub version. All in all, solid stuff.
Rating: 7.6/10 | Release date: April 11th, 2012

Voices Of Black – Atom Bomb (Double Standards)
Electro-discobots Voices Of Black present the first single of their soon-to-be-released third album. First off is the original mix of Atom Bomb, a slow-moving slab of funk-fused disco with a gritty electro vibe. Packed with cosmic strings, bass stabs and poppy vocals, the track slowly mutates into a warm, sensual afterhours tune. Tanner Ross’ remix gets even loungier with a downtempo broken beat version of the track, while No Regular Play and John Camp finish things with an uptempo rework for the clubs. A typical example of an allrounder release, but don’t let that be a reason to let this one pass by.
Rating: 7.5/10 | Release date: April 16th, 2012