BnB Promo Pool #17

Jackee / Elec Pt.1 – Acid Trips (Snuff Trax)
Snuff Trax 007 appears in the form of a split-EP on which Jackee and Elec Pt. 1 present their latest cuts. Up first is Jackee (Paul Mitchell, also known as disco rocking Meschi) who delivers two nasty acid tracks. A Tribute combines static hi-hats and punchy kicks to glorious synths and –of course- the almighty 303 bass stabs, while Galaxian Journey is a much more abstract acid-space track with superb synthesizer bodywork. Long time Snuff Trax associate Elec Pt. 1 follows with two jacking house tracks. Jack Xpress sounds like a combination of Mr. Fingers and Legowelt (check out the synths), whereas the dreamy Seeking Space is a lush downtempo track for the afterhours.
Rating: 7.5/10 | Release date: June / July 2012

Maxime Dangles – Hold Up (Bedrock)
Rising French producer Maxime Dangles graces Bedrock’s discography with a 5-track EP. It’s one of the more techier release on the label, and its content is sizzling hot! Title track ‘Hold Up’ revolves around a solid beat/bass arp combo and comes with a super big room climax. ‘Jarten’ tops it with a raw propelling synth swirl. ‘My Boo’ is a midtempo track with a strong Deadmau5-esque punch, after which ‘Spagetjack’ and Transparence’ deliver two more slices of heavy tech-fueled progressive. Killer release!
Rating: 8.5/10 | release date: out now

Mike Huckaby – The Tresor EP (Tresor)
This track was first exposed to the world on Tresor’s 20 Year Anniversary compilation and now gets a proper EP release. UP first is The Tresor Track, a Detroit-ish techno banger with delayed synth arps, pumping kicks and a fat groove, while the minimal The Basement Trax takes things to deeper territories with gnarling synth sweeps and industrial percussion. The Upstairs Lounge closes the EP with a drum-fueled mid-tempo groove. A nice extra, but the first two tracks is what this EP is basically all about.
Rating: 7.4/10 | Release date: July 2nd, 2012

Seconds – Tell Them (+ Charles Webster remix) (Baalsaal Records)
Baalsaal’s tenth release is a sunshine-laden deephouse/jazz fusion that is backed up with no less than three remixes from deephouse kingpin Charles Webster. The original mix of Tell Them is a very atmospheric and very warm tune that lays down some very impressive synthesizer work in the middle, with a recurring guitar loop as its key ingredient. Top stuff. Charles Webster’s Club Mix is a heavier version of the track that bears Webster’s signature sound all over it, while the Earl Jam Dub and Earl Jam Interpretation are two dubbier and highly melodic reworks. All in all a very exciting release…
Rating: 7.7/10 | Release date: out now

Steve Rachmad – Bling It Up! (Rejected)
In between the re-release of his classic album Secret Life Of Machines and a new EP under his Parallel 9 alias, Dutch techno boss Steve Rachmad has managed to churn out a new EP for Joris Voorn’s Rejected label. The track that bears this EPs title is Steve at his best: an acid wobble for a bassline, pure organic kicks and a stunning melody are the main specs of the track, and you better believe it when we say any techno lover will go absolutely f*cking bananas on this one. Data Overload on the flipside is a heavier and darker techno track with a super evil drum sound and some kind of mental electro bassline guaranteeing total floor annihilation. Get it.
Rating: 8.6/10 | Release date: July 9th, 2012

Compuphonic – Sunset (Get Physical)
2020Vision/Turbo/and now Get Physical artists Compuphonic from Belgium drop a fresh EP that holds the middle between suave deep house and electronic stoner reggae. The original mix starts very smooth but soon enough in a vocal-laden beauty with a groove that will nestle itself comfortably in your membrane for days to come. DJ T’s remix doesn’t differ that much from the original apart from a set of playful sounds, after which a cut-up radio edit closes the EP. Very, very nice…
Rating: 7.8/10 | Release date: July 2012

Breach – You Won’t Find Love Again (Naked Naked)
Breach launches his new label with a track from himself, and it sure makes us looking forward to things to come. YWFLA is a deep Balearic-style house bomb with an irresistible groove, sexy vocals and a massive (and we mean massive) breakdown. Mainstage material, lads and ladies.
Rating: 7.5/10 | Release date: July 9th, 2012

Max Cooper – Mechanical Concussion (Herzblut)
Max Cooper’s tracks have ended up in the bags of pretty much every house and techno-spinning DJ as of late and we’re not surprised: the man keeps on dropping the one heavy hitter after the other and his latest work gets the job done again. Up first is Fisted (with Jeet), a fx-riddled slab of raw off-beat house rigged with stuttering grooves and kick-ass drums, after which the very melodic Ruptured adds a bit of Gui Boratto-esque mayhem to the release. Both tracks are genius.
Rating: 8.4/10 | Release date: June 28th, 2012

Darius Syrossian – My Side Project EP (Mile End Records)
Darius has been releasing on Steve Lawler’s Viva Music, 8Bit and Area Remote to name but a few, but now turns to veteran house label Mile End for his latest outing. ‘My Side Project’ is the track that opens the release, mixing a very strong house groove to a series of looped sounds that altogether form a very powerful combo. ‘1994 Session’ pretty much revolves around the same track but is simply another killer cut, after which Butler & Murt’s remix of the aforementioned track is a bit more dreamy and druggy with a very oldschool vocal sample as a nice addition.
Rating: 7.4/10 | Release date: July 30th, 2012